It Takes a Village

After a few weeks in Okinawa, I have been stateside with Ian for almost two weeks. We are in our new home, still waiting for household items to arrive.

Going back to Okinawa provided the much needed opportunity to see my friends, engage in my volunteer work, and secure Tsuki for the move. I was also anxious the entire time. My anxiety contributed to my getting sick nearly every day. It was so hard to balance how my I loved seeing my friends with being away from Ian and the worry I experienced.

The love and support I received while back in Okinawa were incredible. While Okinawa was challenging, the relationships I developed there changed my life. I grew so much, and the people I met and developed relationships while in Okinawa were critical to that growth. I know so many of the women I met there will remain part of my life forever.

In a conversation with one of those friends, I was reminded, ‘It takes a village’. That saying is so often used to describe raising a child, but the older I get, the more I recognize that it takes a village our whole lives. We are not made to venture out and succeed on our own. We need each other. We do our best when we are supporting others and willing to accept the support of others.

Leave a comment